Sixth Session of Mentoring in Medicine

There was so much that was covered today that I’m not even sure about what to start with. However, knowing one of the topics happened to be personal and very important to me, I’ll start with that, and work my way through the day’s lessons. My parents suffer with hypertension. My dad, also with diabetes. It has been in my family for as long as they know. My wanting to be a doctor was a huge benefit to this situation. I was able to study the medicine my parents took daily and find out the risks, also make sure that the label provided the proper dosage and how to take it. My mother gave me the liberty in taking her blood pressure as well as my father’s every once in a while. Checking my father’s blood sugar as well administering his insulin, became my priority to this day. I learned about systolic pressure as well as diastolic and heart rate pretty early for their sake, and how to balance diets for mostly my father’s.

I can say that people fear hypertension because of its many affects. Of course I used to feel a certain protectiveness over my parents because they had it. I’m even likely to trigger it.  My siblings as well. However, all grown up now, and understanding it can be taken care of so easily. I’m not scared anymore. I feel that I can tackle it. I’ll be more than happy to spread all that I know and have learned to kids out there like me to let them know they should approach this with the uttermost confidence.

Understanding High Blood Pressure (Hypertension)

Hypertension increases people’s chances of Heart disease, Kidney Disease, and stroke. It has been said that when it comes to Hypertension, the brain, heart, and Kidneys should be taken into consideration. Simply meaning that whatever it is that hypertension brings on to the person who has it, it will attack mainly those systems. High blood pressure is dangerous because it makes the heart work too hard and contributes to atherosclerosis (hardening of the arteries). A blood pressure level of 140/90 mmHg or higher is considered high. If your blood pressure is between 120/80 mmHg and 139/89 mmHg, then you have prehypertension. Normal Blood pressures lie around anything below 120/80.

Checking Blood Pressure

Above, I mentioned several numbers however they were recorded very weirdly I guess you can say. When talking about systolic and Diastolic measurements, that’s how it is recorded. 120/80 would simply be 12o as systolic and 80 as diastolic. Click here to get a website that shows an image, and breaks down what the doctor’s actually check for when compressing your arm. Sphygmomanometer explained.

Hypertension Treatment

It is important to know that many should keep a balanced diet. Avoid high sodium meals. This can save you from other issues such as The Gout. Health eating should be focused more on plant based foods and such. Also, many must learn to moderate the amount of meats they consume a day.

Keep active. Put aside time to have your body burn off fat, and have it accustomed to vigorous work, decreasing your chances of a heart attack, however keep in mind, this does not mean overwork your body.

YOU SHOULD NOT BE A SMOKER.

Keep in mind these factors for treatment can save your life. This condition is known as the silent killer, people vary when it comes to having symptoms and not showing any.

 Results of Hypertension

 As stated above, your kidneys could be at risk, your brain, also your heart at risk of an attack. However, going into specifics…

Artery Damage

Artery damage and narrowing. High blood pressure can damage the cells of your arteries’ inner lining. That launches a cascade of events that make artery walls thick and stiff.

Aneurysm. Over time, the constant pressure of blood moving through a weakened artery can cause a section of its wall to enlarge and form a bulge

Coronary artery disease. Coronary artery disease affects the arteries that supply blood to your heart muscle. Arteries narrowed by coronary artery disease don’t allow blood to flow freely through your arteries.

Enlarged left heart. High blood pressure forces your heart to work harder than necessary in order to pump blood to the rest of your body. This causes the left ventricle to thicken or stiffen (left ventricular hypertrophy). These changes limit the ventricle’s ability to pump blood to your body. This condition increases your risk of heart attack, heart failure and sudden cardiac death.

Brain Damage

Stroke. A stroke occurs when part of your brain is deprived of oxygen and nutrients, causing brain cells to die. Uncontrolled high blood pressure can lead to stroke by damaging and weakening your brain’s blood vessels, causing them to narrow, rupture or leak. High blood pressure can also cause blood clots to form in the arteries leading to your brain, blocking blood flow and potentially causing a stroke

Kidney Damage

Kidney Failure: High blood pressure is one of the most common causes of kidney failure. That’s because it can damage both the large arteries leading to your kidneys and the tiny blood vessels (glomeruli) within the kidneys. Damage to either makes it so your kidneys can’t effectively filter waste from your blood. As a result, dangerous levels of fluid and waste can accumulate. You might ultimately require dialysis or kidney transplantation.

                                                                                                                  Signed:

                                                                                                      Creative Gloves